A Leap Of Faith

“If you are not willing to risk the unusual, you will have to settle for the ordinary.’ – Jim Rohn

For years I have always talked myself out of thingsbe it purchases, relationships, holidays, job opportunities, courses, driving  or buying that limited edition pair of shoes that have never been available since (yes, it still haunts me). You name it and I have probably told myself that I couldn’t do it, shouldn’t buy it or it wouldn’t work out. I have opened countless emails, seen something amazing that I want, over thought it and then deleted the email or walked away.

Then something changed, I realised talking myself out of amazing opportunities wasn’t helping me, it wasn’t making my life any better, and I wasn’t protecting myself from anything. I decided maybe it was time to take a leap of faith.

I’m surrounded by ambitious people, and people who take risks and are living their dreams. I’m an ambitious person, but not a risk taker; always scared of making the wrong decision, always visualising the worst case scenario and expecting the worst. I realised that I needed to say ‘yes’ more, take a few more risks and live more of the life I really wanted to live. Time to follow my heart and stop my head doing all the talking. After all, if you don’t try something you won’t actually know if it’s the right thing to do. So I decided to start doing all the things I’ve always wanted to do, and take a few more (calculated) risks.

IMG_0381

Me taking The leap of faith @ Aquaventure – Atlantis The Palm

I started with something small, I booked a Cruise around the Caribbean, I took a risk as it wasn’t planned for, but it was a ridiculously good deal. Guess what? Everything that needed to fall into place to make it happen, did. It all worked itself out perfectly, and in the end it was an amazingly unforgettable 2 weeks.  Since then I have tried as much as possible to say yes to things. To not over think the my purchases, to take that leap of faith (be it the Waterpark ride or in life), even if it’s just saying yes to things I wouldn’t normally. Slowly but surely taking small leaps and putting myself out there a little more, and since then I’ve noticed a such a great difference.

I also learnt that shying away from the things you’re worried about or scared of won’t help you progress, saying no, whether it to yourself or others can hold you back. I realised the only person losing out was me. Saying yes a lot more means I am living a life I love and still getting to where I want to be, but this way I’m enjoy the journey a hell of a lot more!

So, stop worrying so much, trust your intuition and take that little leap of faith.

 

 

Leave a Reply

